5 Lies That Leaders Tell

Now I know that I have your curiosity – so these “lies” that I speak of are lies that I have told at one point or someone has told me. The reason we tell these lies is simple: IMAGE MANAGEMENT.  What will they think of me?

I know that some cannot admit these….that’s OK. Rather than lie about the following, let’s just make a decision to be responsible for our actions,  and if need be, just look bad if we fail in these areas.

DRUM ROLL PLEASE!

# 1 – “I am sorry I didn’t get your message, my phone must have been acting up.” Now, I don’t know of ONE TIME in my life where this has legitimately happened. Do you? Don’t lie. If it has happened to you, how many times have you used this as an excuse when it really DID NOT happen?

# 2 – “I am having an issue with my kids and can’t make it.” I know that this is a sensitive area – but so is lying. Please, as leaders, may we not use our children as a means of not being responsible. Sure, real things come up – but don’t “make things up.”

#3 – “I really feel that God told me to do this.” Seriously? Are we going to use God as our scapegoat? IT IS ALWAYS EASY TO USE AN INVISIBLE PERSON. I have used this at times. Sometimes I really believed it…  We must be sensitive to God’s heart and not our own emotional desires. This will keep His name clean and our reputation whole.

#4 – “I promise I want tell anyone.” Need I say more? Yes I do – I have been the one who has spread other peoples news/junk like warm butter on toast. I regret that I have been like this at times. I have definitely learned to be an “EAR WITHOUT AN ECHO.”

#5 – “I will call you and we will get together for lunch or hang out.” If I had an abomination list, this one would be on it. I hate this crap. Jesus help me…

A few years ago, I met a guy who was a prominent denominational minister. So, this guy says to me – “I want to get together with you ASAP. Here is my CELL number.” I said, “Great, I look forward to grabbing some lunch with you. Also, I will call your cell now so that you have my number.” A strange concerned look came over his face as he was standing there holding his cell phone. I didn’t know why until…  You guessed it, it was his office number and his secretary answered.

I stood there in amazement as to his convenience for lying over such a small thing.

I have done the same at times.

May we be truthful, even over the small things. HIS NAME IS WORTH MORE THAN OUR IMAGE.

WHAT ARE SOME OF THE LIES THAT YOU HAVE TOLD, OR HAVE BEEN TOLD? COME ON LETS GET THIS MESS EXPOSED.

Matt

About Matt Wade :: Nashville, TN


Leave a comment